August 30, 2003

  • Hartleylands Farm Fishery. The Reservoir & Nick’s Lake.

    HartleylandsFarmFishery.jpg Hartleylands Farm Fishery picture by pnm123

    Well this weekend saw me spending a good part of my time at Hartleylands Fishery…………….

    Marsh AC club match.

    Saturday was at the invitation of Dave (Dave the Fish), His club Marsh AC had booked the Reservoir for one of their club matches and as all the pegs weren’t taken, Steve (beebs) Jason (NofinPhish) and Myself recieved an invitation to join them.
    Assembling in the Carpark for an 8.30am draw, it was nice to meet John (tutu) and Colin who had accompanied Dave to the Welsh Fish-in. Also present, though in a working capacity was Vince (vg1037) the Bailiff at Hartleylands.

    I drew in the high 30′s and arrived at my swim to find the wind blowing in my face and the only shady peg on the whole fishery, so while others sat around in tee shirts & shorts, I was in a bib & brace and a fleece (M/D’s of course )
    I started on the poleline at about 10mtrs fishing pellet and managed to winkle out 6 skimmers and a small carp before the wind made presentation too awkward. Had I not been a guest I would have gone straight onto the method feeder as this is a banker for a few Carp, but sitting in my carryall was a ball of paste.
    Now paste fishing is not one of my strengths, but having read a few of Malc’s exploits, it’s a bait I’m determined to get to grips with, so it was out with the margin pole, tie up a couple of rigs and lets have a go.

    Paste in the margin…….

    Well lets just say that it was fun , trying to condition myself not to strike every dip and tremor of the float, and towards the end of the afternoon having tried endless variations of rigs I felt as if i was coming to terms with it and a few decent fish had ended up in the net .

    4pm and time for the weigh in and with Vince in charge we worked our way around.
    Dave had set the pace with a 40lb bag, with everyone having caught a few.

    Nice one for Dave……..

    Colin put just over 51lbs on the scales, all caught on the Method, which was to prove the winning weight. Steve had contented himself with using the day to practice his silver fish approach in readiness for the intersite match in a couple of weeks, and definatley caught more fish than anyone for a bag in the teens.

    The Weigh-in……

    Jason proved to be the dark horse, in what he professed to be his first ever fishing match, and duly put 49lbs on the scales for 2nd place. Well done Jason (I may have to rethink the team ).
    Last but one to weigh was me and I was pleasantly surprised to see the needle creep round to 47lbs, nearly all paste caught .

    So thanks to Dave and the lads of Marsh AC for a very pleasant day as their guest, I hope you enjoyed yourselves, I certainly did.

    Position

              Angler

       Weight     

     1st

     Colin Sharrard

     51lbs 04ozs

     2nd

     Jason Davies      (Guest)

     48lbs 06ozs

     3rd

     Peter Morton     (Guest)

     47lbs 00ozs

     4th

     Dave Collier

     41lbs 12ozs

     5th

     Tony Roberts

     30lbs 08ozs

     6th

     Judy Hermite

     29lbs 12ozs

     7th

     Mike Develin

     28lbs 12ozs

     8th

     Kevin Loveland

     23lbs 08ozs

     9th

     Dave Wormall

     22lbs 14ozs

     10th=

     Steve Wormall

     19lbs 04ozs

     10th=

     John Holdsworth

     19lbs 04ozs

     12th

     Martin Hucker

     18lbs 00ozs

     13th

     Steve Sullivan   (Guest)

     12lbs 08ozs

     14th

     Jim Boase

     10lbs 04ozs

     15th

     Roger Noakes

     10lbs 03ozs

     16th

     Chris Newton

       7lbs 08ozs

     17th

     Tim Ford

       7lbs 06ozs

     18th

     Rod Turner

       5lbs 12ozs

    Hawthorne AC club match.

    So Sunday morning and i’m in the Carpark again, this time for a Hawthorne AC match on Nicks Lake. Nicks is one of 3 new lakes that have just been opened at Hartleylands and was only stocked with fingerling Carp last November, but already these fish weigh around 6ozs.

    A low turnout of only 15 anglers meant that we only put the even pegs in the draw to give everyone a bit of room, and peg 10 was mine, It was flat calm as we set up but as soon as the whistle blew so did the wind.

    Peg 10……….


    Now Vince had warned me that the fish tend to follow the wind, so you can imagine my joy to find the wind blowing from behind me and blowing my fish away.
    I wish I could say that I fished a blinder, but I wasted far too much time on a pellet line scratching for bites. I finally started to get a few at 12mtrs to maggot, but it was to little to late. I managed to put 15lbs 6ozs on the scales for 6th, but only 17lbs was needed for 2nd. At least I got another 3 points for the fishing race, having caught a few small Ghosties.

    Mint little Ghostie….

    Mike Vincent ran away with it, with 28lbs 4ozs for 1st. Everyone caught though and in a couple of seasons time this is going to be an awesome match venue.

    So that was my weekend, 1 fishery but two very different lakes,and mixed fortunes .

     

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *