June 24, 2005

  • Blyton Ponds.

    Maggotdrowning.com

    magtrans.gif MD's Logo picture by pnm123

     Fish-In.

    BlytonPonds.jpg picture by pnm123

    Well I arrived around lunchtime and Les directed me to Maggotville and provided a welcoming cuppa. I decided to get my bivvie up post haste as the heavens were threatening to open, Dave the Fish providing a handy mallet to help with the pegs ThumbsUp [:T].

    After a stroll round to meet and greet faces old and new I decided that I had enough time for an afternoon dabble, so getting my gear I eased into a swim on pond B, next to Dai, his good lady Anne and son Daniel .

    user posted image

    A hand full of pellets to the pads on my left and an expander on the hook was soon producing a mix of bream, barbel and roach with a few carp thrown in for good measure and much to Dai’s delight a GOLDEN TENCH. At least having had a good look at one, Dai shouldn’t have any trouble identifying one if and when he eventually catches one of his own Tongue [:P]. Perhaps Dai and The Hat should have a session at Monk lakes down near me? one of them’s bound to catch one there.

    Just as I was packing up Anne managed to catch her 1st ever Tench ThumbsUp [:T] …….

    user posted image

    A quick wash and brush up and off to the pub for a meal and a couple of pints was merely a prelude to the cabaret round at Dai’s bivvy as Ady kept us all entertained as only he can .

    Saturday morning arrived sometime around 9am and again I found myself on pond B, but this time between Ady and Teepee. Pole across to the island found all of 9″ of water and a succession of chub and barbel, all in super condition and thriving in their natural environment……………………….WATER .

    Ady to my left decided to try and choke a few carp with a selection of improbably large hookbaits and appeared to be having some success, despite the attentions of Ghillie Geoff and ‘evil’ Amy……..

    user posted image

    Here’s one of them that survived the ordeal  …………

    user posted image

    While Red Leader was adding to Coshida’s profits opposite me to tempt an eventual 10 carp. Dave the Fish and Colin were fishing either side of the bridge dividing pond B from A with them both putting fish regularly in the net.

    user posted image

    Big Brian arrived and introduced himself, and it was obvious where he got the name from, but he was showing some class by being attired in a BURGUNDY MD’s sweatshirt

    user posted image

    I meanwhile elected to fish paste in the margin, to see if I could get a carp. I soon hooked a good common, but after a fair old fight it slipped the hook.At this point I’d like to say that all those that witnessed this commiserated with me over my misfortune,
    I’D LIKE TO, but true to form the p**s taking was mercy-less, B******S!!!! Tongue [:P]Big Smile [:D]

    Stu was fishing my peg from the previous day with a pole that he makes look like a whip and was happily getting amongst a few…..

    user posted image

    While Dave assumed the Ghillies duties as Teresa managed to catch her 1st carp …………..

    user posted image


    Simon R was managing to catch a few carp from under a bush on pond A when he wasn’t foulhooking errant free swimming topkits  …….

    user posted image

    Reading this you could be forgiven for thinking that the place was fishing it’s head off, but some were struggling and I’m sure I heard snoring coming from Teepee’s direction on more than one occasion .
    Michelle seemed to be taking great delight, strolling around and announcing that Nick was being battered by her in no uncertain terms Tongue [:P].


    Superb skill and ability  finally yielded a reward for me though in the shape of a nice 11½lb Mirror, despite certain allegations of ‘Mugging’ from some quarters that should know better  …..

    user posted image

    Just prior to packing up for the day, I decided to feed a margin swim on the other bank that I fancied fishing Sunday AM. Unfortunately Red Leader decided this was a cue for a catapult war, and was only persuaded to desist as a result of a direct hit with a 14mm halibut pellet, though how I managed to hit so small a target at that range is a bit of a mystery .

    Back to the pub for a meal and liquid sustenance led to another cabaret session round Dai’s bivvy, though Ady did seem a little subdued as he was issued with a charity challenge Tongue [:P]. Should he choose to accept, both Dave and I have pledged £50 to a charity of Ady’s choice, should he furnish proof of completing the challenge.
    Will he succeed? Frankly I think that our money is as safe as houses .

    Sunday morning and for some strange reason I was up at 6am to be greeted by blue sky and sunshine, the 1st since arrival, so decided to grab a couple of ours before packing up for the journey home.
    Popping down to the ponds I found only Colin and Haydn had beaten me to it, with only Haydn putting a couple of carp in the net during the quiet of the early morning .

    user posted image

    9am saw Stu and I invited to partake of a cup coffee on the veranda of Red Leader’s IKEA bivvy prior to breakfast and after that it was time for me to pack away ready for the 200+ miles down the motorway to home.

    All packed away it was time for a last stroll round to say my farewells. Despite the warmth of the day, the fishing remained slow.
    Nick was still getting battered by Michelle, this time with his own pole  ………

    user posted image

    Ady however was grinning as an 8½lb mirror grabbed a bit of flake to reward his efforts and happily posed for a photo despite doing his best to juggle it back into the water 1st Tongue [:P].

    user posted image

    Scouse was found hiding in the bushes with only 1 bream having fallen for his paste, and bemoaning a distinct lack of hubcaps, now that most cars have alloys and locknut’s .

    user posted image

    While the final site was of Red Leader standing back in admiration of the ease with which Teresa handled 11mtrs of his pole  ………………..

    user posted image

    So that was my Blyton Fish-In, Good laughs, Great company and a few fish as well, not a bad way of spending a weekend ThumbsUp [:T]

     

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *