October 22, 2005

  • Elphick’s Fishery. Sandwich Lake.

    Sandwich Lake  Elphicks Fishery

    So there I was driving down the A21 in the dark to Elphick’s wondering if I had bitten off more than I could chew?

    Over several sessions fishing with a good friend of mine, Andy (TheHat) Spreadbury, it had come to light that he had never caught a Golden Tench. Indeed even when Andy has fished the next peg to me, I’ve caught them while they’ve managed to avoid Andy. Over the course of time it’s got to the stage where Andy’s catchphrase had become “Don’t mention GOLDIES

    Last week I sent him a Private Message on the Maggotdrowning forum asking if he fancied breaking his duck so to speak and finally catch one, to which he replied that of course he did, and like a mug I had virtually promised that it could be achieved from Sandwich Lake at Elphicks as I had never failed to catch at least a couple whenever I fished there.

    So there I was standing on the steps of the fishery lodge at 8am when Andy arrived. Into the lodge to purchace our day tickets, and just looking at his face you could tell that Andy was up for it Smile [:)].

    Up to the lake and the overflow swim was vacant, so I allowed Andy to have it, especially as he’d recieved a PM from someone who will remain nameless Disapprove [V] telling him to make sure he got it. I set up in the next swim to the left as the banter started to flow while we got ready.

    The approach was simple, 11mtrs at dead depth feeding and fishing pellet, with a pouch of pellet every put-in Wink [;)].

    Out I shipped and the float buried and after a brief fight the 1st fish of the day was safely in my landing net……………….

    Andy’s face was a picture to say the least, and he went into Victor Meldrew mode with a “I don’t believe it” well that’s all that was suitable for publication.

    During the morning a few fish started to come for both of us and while i managed another 3 GOLDIES along with some Skimmers, all that Andy could manage were the resident Skimmers that think they’re Trout, leaping clear of the water whenever they’re hooked Shocked [:0].

    By 12 I was beginning to wonder if Andy was going to achieve his goal, but at 12ยท30 his elastic streamed out with something that obviously wasn’t a Skimmer. At the same time my float slid away and I was in as well, we both netted our fish at the same time, A GOLDIE for me and a GOLDIE for Andy ThumbsUp [:T].



    Big Smile [:D]Big Smile [:D] MISSION ACCOMPLISHED!!!!! Big Smile [:D]Big Smile [:D]


    The afternoon saw Andy fishing with renewed vigour, but another Goldie was not to be, a couple more Tench raised his hopes, only to turn Green as they saw the landing net, though I did manage another 3 bringing my total to 8 Wink [;)].

    During the afternoon a family of Swans payed us a visit, A particularly stroppy Cob with his Hen and 4 Cygnets, that weren’t far of being fully fledged.


    As they worked their way round the lake, a couple of anglers noticed some line trailing from 1 of the Cygnets, but they couldn’t get close enough to remove it.

    Meanwhile a few more fish were added between us, more of a variety, with some small stockie Carp, a Grassie for me and a Crucian for Andy amongst the ever present Skimmers, but they were fun to catch as they averaged out at about 2lbs a piece.




    About 5pm I noticed that the Swans had moved to the next lake, but one of the Cygnets was missing, However Andy noticed it limping into the lake, and it swam across to our bank. I took some sweetcorn and sprinkled it on the bank and stood back.
    Soon it found the corn and as it was tucking in I walked up behind it.
    I was gobsmacked to see about 3ft of carp rig trailing behind it.
    I placed my foot on the line, but it must have felt it and tried to waddle off. I knew it was now or never and managed to rugby tackle it and get it’s wings folded in. Looking up to Andy for some assistance I noticed him taking a photo of proceedings………………………..



    When he came over we were both horrified to see that there was a large barbed hook embedded in it’s foot, Here’s the rig Angry [:(!], Not the best of photo’s I’m afraid but the rig consisted of a size 8 barbed hook attached to heavy braid to a swivel,3ft of heavy clear leader (30lbs B.S.+ at a conservative estimate) spliced into about 8 inches of snakeskin or something similar.

    Now whoever made that rig up knew full well what they were doing and decided to use a barbed hook despite them being banned on the fishery. The Cygnet wasn’t fully fledged, so hadn’t flown to another water to pick the rig up.

    The whole time we were there no fishery staff came round to do a rig check so in my eyes are just as culpable as the angler that ignored the rule, but still doesn’t excuse it in the 1st place Angry [:(!].

    Surely if fisheries are going to put these rules in place, they should enforce them, and ban anglers that are found to be knowingly breaking them Angry [:(!].

    Luckily Andy had a pair of side cutters and we managed to cut the hook and remove the barbed point as it had come through.
    Just in the nick of time as a very angry Cob came stamping and hissing up the bank. Off went the Cygnet to rejoin it’s family apparently none the worse and it was soon feeding on our leftover pellets and corn as we called it a day.


    So the day ended with plenty of fish caught, Andy got his GOLDIE and hopefully the young Cygnet is none the worse for it’s ordeal ThumbsUp [:T].

     

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *