August 14, 2010

  • Colemans Cottage Fishery. Pathfield Lake.

    Marsh AC club match.

    ColemansCottage.jpg Colemans Cottage Fishery. picture by pnm123

    It’s off to Essex for me today to Colemans Cottage to fish just my 4th club match of the year. Hopefully it’ll be a decent day and everyone will catch a few . However I nearly didn’t make it today having woken at 1·30am and been violently sick for no apparent reason Dead [xx(]. I finally got back to sleep around 3am, so only got about 3 hours sleep before the alarm went off. A grey drizzly day wasn’t the greatest incentive, but I figured I would probably feel better on the bank out in the fresh air Smile [:)].

    I arrived at the fishery just after 8am and decided a small breakfast was in order to check out the state of my stomach Wink [;)]. Dave soon had the monies collected and the draw underway. Now normally the low numbers are the favourite pegs on Pathfield Lake, so you can imagine my delight at drawing peg 26 down on the shallow newer part of the lake. Dave of course had his usual low draw and I’m sure I detected a little smirk when he recorded my draw on the sheet Tongue [:P].

    So out to collect my nets and a stroll down to take a look at my peg, an end peg effectively as peg 25 was empty today and there seemed to be a few fish feeding, so back to the car park to collect my gear and stroll back down to the peg. I’ve got Kevin for company today on peg 28 so I should be good for a mid match cup of coffee courtesy of Jean ThumbsUp [:T].

     It’s probably 13mtrs to the island, and the targets today are Carp, Mirrors and Commons + a decent head of recently stocked F1′s along with silvers which include Barbel. Now I said it was shallow but even I was surprised when an initial plumb up revealed a maximum of 15 inches down the track at around 5mtrs and just 12 inches in the margins Shocked [:0]. Now given that there are some decent carp present and they tend to take off like bullets in such shallow water I set up a couple of modified Rolf’s rigs, and these were Malman Adam 4×10′s on 0·20 Power Match with a size 14 QM1 hooks adjusted to suit + a Malman MTD2 on 0·20 Power Match with a size 16 QM1 hook for shallow. I also set up a 4X12 Middy Paste Float, it’s a really strong line through design made up on ·20 Ultima Power Match finished off with a Drennan size 12 Carp Method hook to fish paste in both margins. Bait was just 6 and 8mm hard pellet, 6mm GOT Baits Expanders and GOT Baits Atomic Paste Smile [:)].

    So at 10am Dave signalled the All-In, a hand full of pellet onto the 5mtr line and a pinch into each margin. The plan was to concentrate on the 5mtr line and regularly flick pellet into the margins, but not to touch them till a tail pattern showed. Out to the 5mtr line which was already bubbling and fizzing with a 6mm expander produced an instant bite, a small F1 which was immediately followed by it’s twin, not quite what I was hoping for, but I was off the mark Smile [:)]. I swapped to a banded 8mm in the hope of attracting something slightly larger, but all I got for my trouble was a couple of foul hookers which tore off at a rate of knots before shedding the hook Angry [:(!]. A change to banded 6mm produced a series of frustrating little digs at the float until it finally buried and I connected with a feisty Common of around 3lbs which battled all the way to the net. This seemed to set the pattern for the next 3 hours, I wasn’t setting the place alight with maybe 30lbs in the net, but nobody else was apparently from what I could see and gather from a couple of anglers that were strolling around, though Chris Newton on peg 23 reported having had around a dozen fish ……..

    …… and I’d noticed that Chris Withall had strolled down from peg 20 to collect a second carp net quite early on Wink [;)].

    Around half way through I spotted a tail pattern in the left hand margin and soon had a couple of better Commons of around 5lbs a piece safely in the net Smile [:)]. Clive appeared at this point and I had another of around 3lbs which he captured on camera before returning to his peg…….

      Unfortunately the next fish proved to be a foul hooker which absolutely trashed the margin before shedding the hook Angry [:(!].
    Rather than risk wrecking it further I decided to re-feed both margins with a couple of handfuls of pellet and take a stroll with the camera to allow it to settle.

    Graham was on peg 30 which had plenty of marginal cover along with fish obviously feeding, but he was having a bit of a struggle trying to tempt them to take a bait Frown [:(]……

     Martin opposite seemed pretty quiet with what looked like a feeder rod set up to try and tempt a few…….

     Next was Keith on peg 33, who I noticed already had a second carp net in, he was pretty cagey about it though reckoning that it was empty at that point, but he’s a damn good angler and I couldn’t be sure that he wasn’t telling porkies Wink [;)]…….

     Tony on peg 36 hadn’t broken any BeastMaster sections, but said that he was struggling to get to grips with things today……

     My last port of call was to Clive who was on peg 3 today. He had an overflow pipe trickling water into his left hand margin, and it was here that he was fishing, and judging by the tail patterns the fish were there too Smile [:)]…….

     He said that he was being plagued by foul hookers though which was really frustrating him, but as I went to return to my peg he hooked and landed a lively pearl white Ghostie Wink [;)] ……

     As I made my way back down the bank I noticed Tony was also into a Ghostie himself, this one a lovely brassy flanked fish ……

     So it was starting to look that a few people were sandbagging with their tales of struggle, and with Keith also sliding a Carp over the landing net as I passed him, I knew that I was going to need a decent final couple of hours……

     Ever the optimist I grabbed a second carp net for myself as I returned to my peg and staked it out on my return. Jean supplied a welcome cup of coffee ThumbsUp [:T] as I made my mind up to ignore the 5mtr line and just fish paste in the margin for the remainder. It was slow at first with a few hesitant bites that I missed, but I soon got into a rhythm feeding and fishing both margins close to my nets……

    …….. taking a fish from either side before swapping over to avoid to much disturbance, the odd foul hooker disturbed this, but on the whole the last hour and a half saw my catch rate increase nicely Smile [:)].

    By the time Dave called the all out at 4pm, I was confident that I had high double figures, but had lost track a bit having mislaid my clicker, but I was kicking myself a bit for not having fished the paste sooner and hoping that it hadn’t cost me to badly.

    With the gear back in the car, the inquests started, Keith was owning up to 60-70ish as was Clive, all would be revealed by the scales. Clive soon set the mark with 77½lbs which he seemed reasonably pleased with Smile [:)], but in general the low numbers hadn’t fished as well as expected today with Dave Colliers’s 66lbs being the next best. Indeed it wasn’t till we got to peg 17 that we saw another weight to overtake Clive’s, Ken Walker following up his 2nd place on the previous club match at Blasford Hill with a fine 80½lbs today ThumbsUp [:T], which would bring him a similar result 2nd.gif 2nd picture by pnm123. Chris Withall on peg 20 had a busy day, his 77½lbs equalling Clive’s weight Wink [;)]. Round to my peg and I was honestly surprised when my weight was called at a level 131lbs  which would prove to be the best of the day 1st.gif 1st picture by pnm123. The last weigh of note was Keith’s at 78½lbs which gave him 3rd overall 3rd.gif 3rd picture by pnm123, just pipping Clive and Chris.

    The nice bit about Colemans is going back to the clubhouse for the results and being able to get a cuppa and a bite to eat while Dave sorts the results and dishes out the section pools, before we bid our farewells Smile [:)].

    The next club match is at Rockells Farm which is always one to look forward to, but before that I’m back at Rolfs Lake next Saturday for the final Jinx Match of the year.

    Position

    Peg

    Angler

    Weight

     1st

    26

     Peter Morton 131lbs 00ozs
     2nd

    17

     Ken Walker  80lbs 08ozs
     3rd

    33

     Keith Ashby  78lbs 08ozs
     4th=

    3

     Clive Pritchard  77lbs 08ozs
     4th=

    20

     Chris Withall  77lbs 08ozs
     6th

    8

     Dave Collier  66lbs 00ozs
     7th

    6

     Terry Goff  55lbs 00ozs
     8th

    5

     Mick Wright            (guest)  51lbs 08ozs
     9th

    30

     Graham Manning  51lbs 00ozs
     10th

    36

     Tony Roberts  50lbs 00ozs
     11th

    9

     Nick Bondeau           (guest)  38lbs 08ozs
     12th

    11

     Colin Sharrard  36lbs 00ozs
     13th

    22

     Judy Hermite  35lbs 08ozs
     14th

    28

     Kevin Loveland  32lbs 08ozs
     15th

    35

     Jimmy Etherington   (guest)  28lbs 08ozs
     16th

    23

     Chris Newton           (guest)  26lbs 08ozs
     17th

    2

     John Holdsworth  24lbs 08ozs
     18th

    16

     Simon Watkins  23lbs 08ozs
     19th

    19

     Martin Hucker  20lbs 00ozs
     20th

    13

     Zak Johnson  19lbs 00ozs
     21st

    14

     Rod Turner  18lbs 00ozs
     22nd

    7

     Eddy Dobson  13lbs 00ozs
     23rd

    32

     Ron Mannister   9lbs 00ozs

     

Comments (5)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *